Pastoral Care

New Zealand Code of Practice

Mount Albert Grammar School is a signatory to the Education (Pastoral Care of International Students) Code of Practice 2016.

The Code supports the aim of all New Zealand education providers to ensure that International students are well informed, safe and properly cared for.

Click here to find out more about the Code of Practice and download a copy

People at MAGS who will help you

Welcome to Mount Albert Grammar School. We’re here to help you ease into life at MAGS, and make the most of the opportunities the school will offer you. Please come and see us if you have any problems, or just to talk. The International Office door is always open.

International Students Office

Jude Lydia
International Director
jlydia@mags.school.nz
Jude will help you with your big problems and keep in touch with your parents and agent

Bronwyn Watts
Assistant International Director
bwatts@mags.school.nz
Bronwyn will also help you with your big problems and keep in touch with your parents and agent

Tracey Siddins
International Office Manager
international@mags.school.nz
Tracey can help you with your enrolment, re-enrolment, fees, visas and money problems

Paula Barakat
Homestay Co-ordinator
homestay@mags.school.nz
Paula can help you with changes or problems at your homestay

Health Clinic

Monica Haworth
School Nurse
nurse@mags.school.nz

Claire Brown
School Nurse
nurse@mags.school.nz

The Health Clinic is in the Student Centre. Monica and Claire are nurses who will help you if you are feeling sick or have hurt yourself.

If you feel sick during class, ask your teacher if you may see the school nurse. Your teacher will give you a permission slip to take to the nurse.

If you feel sick or hurt yourself at interval or lunchtime, go straight to the Health Clinic.

Guidance Counsellors

Paul Ferner
Head of Guidance
pferner@mags.school.nz

Marianne Wilson
Counsellor
mwilson@mags.school.nz

Margaret O’Carroll
Counsellor
mocarroll@mags.school.nz

Rhonda Weeks
Counsellor
rweeks@mags.school.nz

The Guidance Counsellors are in the Student Centre. If you have a problem and do not want to talk about it with the people in the International Office, you may see one of the Counsellors instead.