Service at MAGS

Mount Albert Grammar School considers Service as one of our “Four Pillars” in the composition of a well-rounded education for all our students. Actively helping others builds empathy, maturity and confidence, and the practical skills required to organise fundraising events are transferable to many areas of life.

We believe that if our young people can leave school with an understanding of the importance of service and a willingness to serve, then our community and ultimately our country will be a better place.

We offer leadership opportunities from Year 9-13, starting with Form Class and Year Level representatives, through to involvement in various committees and special interest groups.

A Service Lion award was established for students who show outstanding commitment to serving their fellow students, the school and community.

All students have the opportunity to contribute through our various student-led fundraising events, including Mufti Days, Blood Donor Day, Shave for a Cure, the annual Quiz Night and MAGS’ participation in the Cancer Society’s annual Relay for Life event.

Students should listen out for Service opportunities in the Daily Notices; parents and students can check the Notices online through the Parent and Student Portal.

Opportunities

Student committees and service groups for 2017 are listed below. They are student led, and overseen by a staff member whose name is listed as a contact person:

Academic Council
Contact Mr Pat Barrett: pbarrett@mags.school.nz

Amnesty International
Contact Mr Michael Walden: mwalden@mags.school.nz

Arts Committee
Contact Ms Jacqui Cesan: jcesan@mags.school.nz

Ball Committee
Contact Ms Natasha Phyn: nphyn@mags.school.nz

Digital Leaders Committee
Contact Ms Elise Goddard: egoddard@mags.school.nz

Environment Committee
Contact Mr Michael Ashby: mashby@mags.school.nz

Health Committee
Contact Ms Jess Lythe: jlythe@mags.school.nz

Interact Club
Contact Mr Mark Rivalland: mrivalland@mags.school.nz

International Students’ Committee
Contact Ms Jude Lydia: jlydia@mags.school.nz

Junior School Committee
Contact Mr Paul McKinley: pmckinley@mags.school.nz

Leavers’ Committee
Contact Ms Natasha Phyn: nphyn@mags.school.nz

Peer Mediators
Contact Ms Marianne Wilson: mwilson@mags.school.nz

Peer Support Leaders
Contact Ms Rhonda Weeks: rweeks@mags.school.nz

SADD Committee (Students Against Dangerous Driving)
Contact Ms Samantha French: sfrench@mags.school.nz

Sports Committee
Contact Mr David Long: dlong@mags.school.nz

Student Action Group
Contact Mr Paul Ferner: pferner@mags.school.nz

Student Librarians
Contact Ms Elise Goddard: egoddard@mags.school.nz

Student Technology Leaders
Contact Ms Elise Goddard: egoddard@mags.school.nz