Six receive Duke of Edinburgh’s Hillary Gold Award

Headmaster Mr Patrick Drumm and teacher Mr Andy Belson with the Gold Award recipients, from left, Alexandra Chaptynova, Michael Soffe, Hayley Becht, Katy MacKenzie, Harry Duncan and Aakash Rajay.

Five Albertians and Prefect Katy MacKenzie received their Duke of Edinburgh’s Hillary Gold Awards from the Governor-General, Sir Jerry Mateparae, at a ceremony in Auckland on Saturday, 30 April.

2012 Head Girl Hayley Becht, 2014 Deputy Head Girl Alexandra Chaptynova, 2015 students Harry Duncan, Aakash Rajay amd Michael Soffe and Katy attended with their families, Headmaster Mr Patrick Drumm and the teacher in charge of the Duke of Edinburgh’s Hillary Award programme at MAGS, Mr Andy Belson. Prefect Alex Thompson has also completed her Gold Award but is currently overseas.

The Governor-General presented each student with their award and had a chat about what they had done to achieve it. In his speech, Sir Jerry said “This award recognises the efforts you have made over a lengthy period. You and your family, friends and supporters can be rightfully proud of your achievement. Participating in the Duke of Edinburgh’s Hillary Award is about more then learning valuable life skills. It is also about recognising the importance and benefits that flow from service to the community.”

Mr Belson said achieving the Gold Award was a huge achievement and demands at least a year of commitment to serving the community, meeting new challenges and working with others.