Girls and Boys Dux Deboprana Mallick and Wesley Donald are pictured above with Professor Peter Phillips, an Albertian and Dux in 1965, who donated and presented the Centennial Cups for Dux.

A highlight of our Senior Prizegiving on November 1 was the inaugural presentation of the Centennial Cups for Dux to Deboprana Mallick and Head Prefect Wesley Donald.
For 100 years MAGS has not had a cup to present to its Dux, something that Professor Peter Phillips has rectified by donating magnificent cups for the Boys and Girls Dux.
Professor Phillips, an Albertian, was well aware of this anomaly, having been named Dux in 1965 at Senior Prizegiving, where he received some books while others were photographed with cups.

The Gold Lion recipients are, back row: Tabea Leonhardt, Lara Grozev, Molly Cavanagh. Middle row: Christopher Sykes, Bella Houghton. Front row: Nishera Gnanendra, Greeshma Kasuganti.

He was a guest at the prizegiving in the F.W. Gamble Hall to present the cups to Girls and Boys Dux Deboprana Mallick and Wesley Donald, one of our Head Prefects along with Lucy Taylor
Wesley and Lucy were MCs for the event and also gave their farewell speeches, reflecting on their time at MAGS. There were also two musical items by our award-winning Centennial Choir.
In 2022, the prestigious Gold Lion was awarded to seven students: Molly Cavanagh, Nishera Gnanendra, Lara Grozev, Bella Houghton, Greeshma Kasuganti, Tabea Leonhardt and Christopher Sykes. The Gold Lion is awarded to students who have gained all four lions – in Academia, Arts, Service and Sport.
C.P. Liddell Scholarships, worth $15,000 each, were presented by John Liddell to Max Davison, Wesley Donald, Deboprana Mallick and Eva Wadsworth.
Our Boys and Girls Proxime Accessit for 2022 are Thomas Fairweather and Greeshma Kasuganti respectively. Greeshma was also the recipient of the Woolf Fisher Memorial Scholarship, worth $3000 a year for three years, and The Prefects’ Cup for the Best All-Round Girl in Year 13. Max Davison was awarded the F.W. Gamble Memorial Cup for the Best All-Round Boy in Year 13.
The Jim Greatbanks Mount Albert Grammar School Engineering Scholarship was awarded to Nishera Gnanendra and Jack Millar.
Isaiah Nin and Nishera Gnanendra were honoured for Service to the School with the Isaac Gray Cup and the Girls’ Foundation Cup respectively.
Ben Hellriegel was the winner of the Neville Watson Memorial Prize for the Student who Best Typifies the Spirit of Mount Albert Grammar School, while Ella Sutton was awarded the Sylvia Lamb Benevolence Cup.
The Harry Wichman Cup for Best All-Round Year 12 Boy was awarded to Taiarahia Moataane-Mika, while the The Linda Fraser Cup for Best All-Round Year 12 Girl was awarded to Bella Houghton.
The Warwick Gibbs Cup for the Best All-Round Boy in Year 11 was awarded to Ryan Shen, and the Brian Murphy Cup for the Best All-Round Girl in Year 11 was awarded to Nishka Arora.
The Best All-Round International Boy and Girl were Chengyi Bill Liu and Kiho Irie.
The Hanson Cup for Senior Progress and Endeavour for Year 12 Boys was presented by Robert Hanson to Jamie Eickhoff, while the Yevette Williams Cup for Diligence for Year 12 Girls went to Ella Edwards.
The Jo Williams Cup for Diligence for Year 11 Girls was awarded to Rose Leader, and The Robert Willmott Memorial Prize for Quality of Effort for Year 11 Boys went to Toby Forster. 

You can see the full list of prizewinners here