The Junior School


Click here to read and download the booklet with all the information you need for starting at MAGS.

Enrolment

Click here for information if you wish to enrol your child at Mount Albert Grammar School.

Junior School Contacts

Junior Graduation
The MAGS Way Single-Sex Education Peer Support Programme
Curriculum Information
Inter-form class competition
Parent Portal
School Calendar
Uniform Friends of MAGS parents' group
Stationery School Rules

Year 9 Parents Evening 2017

The FW Gamble Hall was full as Year 9 families gathered for the annual information evening on Wednesday, 8 February.

Following drinks and nibbles in the Maurice Hall Atrium, visitors were shown through to the Hall where they were greeted by Headmaster Mr Patrick Drumm.

Mr Drumm noted that the 2017 cohort was special, in that they would finish as Year 13s in the school's 100th year - 2021.

"What a special time to be a student at MAGS," said Mr Drumm. "I urge your children to make the most of the breadth of opportunities we offer, while keeping their academic focus as their priority."

Other speakers were the Associate Principal in charge of Junior Boys, Mr Paul McKinley, and Deputy Principal in charge of Junior Girls, Ms Jo Williams.

Members of the Friends of MAGS parents committee and Co-Chairs of the Fine Art Show sub-committee, Mr Ken Fairgray and Ms Lucille Peters, encouraged parents to get involved in the school's largest annual fundraising event.

Parents then met with their children's Form Teachers in classrooms, who talked about school procedures and answered questions.

First Day for Year 9s of 2017

Nearly 600 new Year 9 students were welcomed to Mount Albert Grammar School on Tuesday, 31 January.

The new students had the school to themselves for their first day before students in Years 10-13 arrive on Wednesday. The day began with a powhiri in the FW Gamble Hall and a welcome from Headmaster, Mr Patrick Drumm.

Students were then assigned to their Form Classes, and spent the remainder of the day with their Form Teachers and Year 13 Peer Support Leaders getting to know each other, touring the school and finding out about their timetable and life at MAGS.

During the rest of the week all students took part in the start of the annual Inter-Form Class Competition - a series of games and challenges that runs through the year. They also learned the MAGS Haka, which will be performed at key school events

For information about Starting at MAGS, click here to read and download the booklet with everything you need to know.

Click here to find out more about the Junior School

Junior Prizegiving 2016

MAGS' top Junior academic, sports and arts students were named at the Year 9 and 10 Prizegiving ceremonies on Tuesday, 6 December.

The Junior Girl Dux and Boy Dux for 2016 are Jamila Chen and Adam Bateman, pictured above with Headmaster Mr Patrick Drumm. Click here for a summary of their academic achievements

The Paul Gardner Cup for Service in the Junior School was presented to Logan Allomes and Jamila Chen for the assistance on numerous committees and with arts groups and sports teams.

The Junior Victor Ludorum is Dylan Moon for achievements in Athletics, Rugby, Rugby Sevens and Touch.

Junior Victrix Ludorum is Moanekah Va'ai for achievements in Basketball, Netball, Touch and Tag.

The Junior Duces Artium are Logan Allomes and Maddi Bencich. Logan has excelled in Drama and was MC of this year's Junior Bytes concert. Maddi has excelled in both Dance and Drama.

The Best All-Round Boy and Girl in Year 10 are Adam Bateman and Takunda Muzondiwa. The Best All-Round Year 9 students are Vaibhav Nayyar and Isla Thompson.

In his speech, Headmaster Mr Patrick Drumm said academic achievement was the ultimate measure by which the school judged its success. It was one of MAGS' "four pillars" - the others being the Arts, Sport and Service - and students were encouraged to become involved in all four areas as their achievements in one gave them the confidence and the work ethic to succeed in others.

"I thank our Junior students for approaching their schooling in such a positive way. You can take confidence from your success so far as you enter the Senior school next year."

Click here for the full list of Year 9 Prizewinners

Click here for the full list of Year 10 Prizewinners

Inter-Form Class Competition

Year 9 Girls winners - 9CVT

Year 9 Boys winners - 9MKE

Year 10 Girls winners - 10MKN

Year 10 Boys winners - 10SCF

The Junior Inter-Form Class Competition is a fun series of challenges that runs through the year, with classes gaining points depending on their placings in each event. Extra points are given for participation, support, fair play and team work.

Points gained in a day of final challenges at the end of the school year are added to those gathered earlier and the winning classes announced - 2016 winners are pictured above. They enjoy the annual prize of lunch and a movie at St Luke's.

The competition includes both academic and sporting challenges, and aims to help junior students settle into high school life and get to know each other and the school, while having a go new skills and games.

In 2016 challenges included the MAGS Way video challenge, General Knowledge Quiz, Volleyball, Touch Rugby, Ultimate Vortex, Swimming Sports, Cross Country, Social Studies Quiz, Rowing Machine Challenge, Tug of War, Basketball, and an Art Poster Competition.

Final points for 2016 were:

Year 9 Girls

Year 9 Boys

Year 10 Girls

Year 10 Boys

Class
Place
Points
Class
Place
Points
Class
Place
Points
Class
Place
Points
CVT
1
240
MKE
1
295
MKN
1
278
SCF 1
271
BTS
2
214
FNK
2
215
NLA
2
253
PNE
2
263
MRE
3
199
FLM
3
205
BNF
3
214
HND
3
248
DUN
4
184
BOK
4
204
PLN
4
211
HUN
4
222
JTN
5
148
GDE
5
176
AST
5
179
SRN
5
185
VZW
6
137
KNW
6
152
VTR
6
146
BRT
6
154
NHA
7
132
STW
7
142
QNC
7
141
COU
7
139
WBR
7
132
SEO
8
140
GRN
7
141
GWD
8
130
GOR
9
130
GIB
9
133
PRY
9
118



SAL
9
133
SHP
10
107



PLG
11
126

Information PowerPoints

Please click on the links below to find out more about subjects and extra-curricular activities in the Junior School.


KAMAR Portal & BYOD


English





Visual Arts

Phys Ed and Health


Technology


Year 9 student on Albert-Eden Youth Board

Isla Thompson might only be in Year 9, but that didn't stop the 13-year-old from putting her name forward for the Albert-Eden Youth Board.

She has been appointed as one of 12 members; the others range in age from 17-24, making her the youngest by some margin.

"I saw in the school notices that applications were open and I thought that would be a cool thing to be part of," says Isla. "We get to look at issues from young people's perspectives, and give feedback to the adults on the Albert-Eden Local Board."

The Youth Board has four areas on which to focus - sustainability, social mobility, social development and civic engagement. Projects will include encouraging young people to vote, and using social and online media in a positive way.

"This is our opportunity to get involved in our community and help make it what we want it to be."

Year 10 students hear about financial literacy

The Chairman of the MAGS Board of Trustees, Mr Greg Moyle, gave Year 10 students an introduction to financial planning in a series of talks in the Murray Nairn Library from 23-27 November.

Mr Moyle is the Director of 1Plan Financial Planning, and each year offers to share some of his knowledge about setting financial goals, how to reach them, and the importance of saving.

Some students will carry these concepts into future studies in Business, and Mr Moyle was keen to reach all Year 10 students and give them some pointers about the life skill of managing their money well.

Year 9 trip to Stardome


Year 9 students had a break from their classrooms on 23-24 November to instead travel to Stardome in One Tree Hill Domain to learn about space.

The trip was part of the Year 9 Science topic of Space Science. Teacher in charge Ms Paula Calver said each class had two sessions at Stardome: "The first session was in the Space Room where an educator gave a lecture about the life cycle of stars, including the predicted fate of our own sun as well as larger stars that will collapse into supernova and black holes."

After a break to study the foyer exhibits, each class then visited the Planetarium to see "immersive" videos about the the universe and the search to find evidence of alien life. The shows finished with a tour of the night sky.

The Junior Graduation Programme

Junior Graduation Ceremony for Year 9 students from 2010

Programme Details

The Junior Graduation programme is for Year 9 and 10 students.

The aim of this programme is to:

  • encourage students to work to achieve their best
  • Actively reward both achievement and effort at all ability levels
  • Better track student performance and achievement
  • Provide more timely and indicative snap shots of progress and achievement


What does it look like?

  • Students will graduate from Year 10 into Year 11 with the Year 10 Mount Albert Grammar School Junior Graduation Diploma
  • Year 9 students work towards a certificate to recognise achievement - the Mount Albert Grammar School Junior Certificate of Achievement
  • Data for each year is stand-alone and thus only contributes to that year's award.

Click on the link below to download two pdfs which explain the Junior Graduation Programme in more detail.

Junior-Graduation-Parent-Info.pdf

Single-Sex Education

At Mount Albert Grammar School students have the best of co-education and single-sex education. Year 9 and 10 classes are single sex and streamed according to academic ability. This is because, at this age, boys and girls have quite different learning needs that are best addressed in single sex classes. Option classes in the Junior school, however, are co-educational classes as allows for a more comprehensive option choice for students

In Year 11 the classes are generally co-educational and in Years 12 and 13 all classes are co-educational. This is a unique arrangement and designed to get the best out of both settings at the time when it is most appropriate.

Individual departments modify content and teaching styles to meet the needs of the single sex classes. The students, staff and parents have all commented on the model as ideal. It is the best of both worlds. A number of co-educational schools have visited Mount Albert Grammar School in order to gain information to assist them in deciding about making the change in their school.

The teaching and learning in the junior school is a major focus as the school continues to improve and develop teacher pedagogy. Years 9 and 10 students at Mount Albert Grammar School will continue to benefit from excellent teaching in single-sex classes in a co-educational environment.

Year 9 students: Their views on single-sex classes


"Learning in single sex classes in great because we can concentrate well and focus on getting a great education at the best of our abilities, with no distractions. Junior girls and boys learn in separate ways. With different strengths, interests and at different paces, although we can look forward to learning in co-ed classes when we're in Year 11."


  • " I prefer single sex classes because they are comfortable learning environments. Girls and boys learn in different ways so we learn the way that suits us best. Settling in to a big new school was easier for me with a class of friendly and supportive girls."

  • "Single sex classes make you feel more confident and comfortable. Everyone is very supportive and it is easier to make friends coming into an all girls class at the beginning of the year. You are more able to concentrate and there are fewer distractions but still an opportunity to interact with the opposite sex outside the classroom."

  • "I am enjoying being in a boys' class in Year 9. The competitive nature of my class is challenging yet fun. I still get to catch up with girl friends during the breaks and in the weekends. Another year of single-sex classes will help my learning."

  • "The single sex classes are good because there are less distractions which means that we can learn faster."

  • "Single sex classes have some advantages. One is there are less distractions for boys and girls and the concentration level becomes higher. Also there is always enough time during the breaks to see each other. I am looking forward to Year 11 where there are co-ed classes."

Peer Support Programme

Each year, Year 13 students act as peer support leaders and assist our new students settle into their new school.


The Peer Support Programme has been in operation for several years now and each time we need to acknowledge the excellent work done by those Year 13 students who give their time and abilities to make such a significant contribution to the newcomers to the School community.
Over 100 young people give up some holiday time to train for, and then facilitate, an excellent orientation programme in the first week of the school year, and continued weekly contact during Term One.

Year 13 students are a valuable resource within the School community, and their ability to establish supportive and positive relationships with their Year 9 charges, their ongoing interaction with them over the year, and the leadership skills gained as a result of the programme ensures that the peer support experience continues to be a positive one for all concerned.

Junior School Contacts

Parents and caregivers are most welcome to contact their child's form teacher, Dean or the senior management team members below if they have any queries.

Contact Details

Paul McKinley
Associate Principal
Responsible for Junior Boys

pmckinley@mags.school.nz
Phone: 815 4031

Jo Williams
Deputy Principal
Responsible for Junior Girls

jwilliams@mags.school.nz
Phone: 815 4036

Carissa Calvert
Dean, Year 9 Girls

ccalvert@mags.school.nz
Phone: 846 2044, ext 8119

Michael Collins
Dean, Year 9 Boys

mcollins@mags.school.nz
Phone: 846 2044, ext 8118

Grace Leaso
Dean, Year 10 Girls

gleaso@mags.school.nz
Phone: 846 2044, ext 8111

Aubrey Coup
Dean, Year 10 Boys

acoup@mags.school.nz
Phone: 846 2044, ext 8110

Form Teachers

Class Teacher Email
Year 9 Girls
9BVD Ms Haana Bovaird
hbovaird@mags.school.nz
9FRY Ms Linda Frey
lfrey@mags.school.nz
9GMS Ms Nisitha Gomes
ngomes@mags.school.nz
9HEY Ms Michaela Hey
mhey@mags.school.nz
9KNA Ms Henrieta Kajanova
hkajanova@mags.school.nz
9MKN Ms Nadine Mackinnon
nmackinnon@mags.school.nz
9MGD Ms Reina Mollgaard
rmollgaard@mags.school.nz
9SEO Ms Stella Seo
sseo@mags.school.nz
9WGT
Ms Alison Wright
awright@mags.school.nz
9YAN
Ms Meng Yang
myang@mags.school.nz
Year 9 Boys
9ASH Mr Michael Ashby
mashby@mags.school.nz
9BRT Mr Pat Barrett
pbarrett@mags.school.nz
9DSV Mr Max Denisov
mdenisov@mags.school.nz
9FLM Mr Richie Folomu
mfolomu@mags.school.nz
9FTN Mr Julian Fortuin
jfortuin@mags.school.nz
9GDE Mr John Goodier
jgoodier@mags.school.nz
9GIB Mr Warwick Gibbs
wgibbs@mags.school.nz
9JTN Ms Kelly Johnston
kjohnston@mags.school.nz
9MKE Mr Elliot Moka
emoka@mags.school.nz
9PRG Ms Helen Prangnell
hprangnell@mags.school.nz
9PSI
Mr Andrew Pilisi
apilisi@mags.school.nz
9THM
Mr Ryan Thom
rthom@mags.school.nz

Year 10 Girls
10ADS Ms Jaleisa Adams
jadams@mags.school.nz
10BNF Ms Shona Boniface
sboniface@mags.school.nz
10FRC Ms Samantha French
sfrench@mags.school.nz
10GRD Ms Laura Gardner
lgardner@mags.school.nz
10MLH Ms Raechel Milich
rmilich@mags.school.nz
10MRY Ms Leah Murray
lmurray@mags.school.nz
10SLE Ms Jordan Stanley
jstanley@mags.school.nz
10ROB
Ms Sharne Roberts
sroberts@mags.school.nz
10WON
Ms Harriet Wilson
hwilson@mags.school.nz
Year 10 Boys
10CFD Ms Leanne Cutfield
lcutfield@mags.school.nz
10HMP Mr Geoff Hamp
ghamp@mags.school.nz
10GWD Mr Scott Greenwood
sgreenwood@mags.school.nz
10HUN Mr Matthew Huang
mhuang@mags.school.nz
10KGN Mr Joe Kerrigan
jkerrigan@mags.school.nz
10KMA
Mr Pradeep Kumar
pkumar@mags.school.nz
10PRY Mr Carl Perry
cperry@mags.school.nz
10SAL
Mr Tony Sail
tsail@mags.school.nz
10SCF Mr Andrew Scaife
ascaife@mags.school.nz
10TNR
Mr Sean Turner
sturner@mags.school.nz
10WLD
Mr Michael Walden
mwalden@mags.school.nz