Contact Us


Main School Contacts

The school's postal address is:

Mount Albert Grammar School
Alberton Avenue
Mount Albert
Auckland 1025


Facsimilie: 8462042


To contact the school by phone, please ring 8462044 and choose from the options given.

The main school contacts are listed below and will give you the extension numbers of key staff.
Click on these links to access contacts not listed on this page:


Senior Management


International Students


Deans

Sports

Department Heads


Guidance & Careers


Teaching Staff



Attendance Officer:
Ms L Iswar
Phone: 846 2044, ext 8142
E-mail: attendance@mags.school.nz
Director of Finance/Business Manager:
Mr Kyu Kim
Phone: 815 4032
e-mail: magsbusiness@xtra.co.nz
Enrolment Officer:
Mrs Theresa Taylor
Phone: 846 2044, ext 8131
e-mail: enrol@mags.school.nz
Click here for all enrolment information
Headmaster's Personal Assistant:
Annemarie Wright
Phone: 846 2044, ext 8150
e-mail: paheadmaster@mags.school.nz

Property Manager:
Mr F Koenen
Phone: 846 2044, ext 8134
Mobile: 021 522 372
e-mail: fkoenen@mags.school.nz

Director of School House:
Mr C Metcalfe
Phone: 846 2044, ext 8178
e-mail: cmetcalfe@mags.school.nz

Community Liaison,
Website Co-ordinator
:
Ms E Sarney
Phone: 846 2044, ext 8236
e-mail: esarney@mags.school.nz

Director of Advancement: School Foundation
Mr Tim Kay
Phone: 846 2044, ext 8127
Email: development@mags.school.nz

Contacts - International Students

Here are the contact details for the International Department


International Director:
Mr Evan Gray
Phone: 815 4037
egray@mags.school.nz


International Dean:
Mr Ian Cole
Phone: 8462044, ext 8128
icole@mags.school.nz

Homestay Co-ordinator
Ms Julie Boersen
Phone: 09 846 2044 ext 8187 

International Office Secretary
Miss Andrea Koenen
Phone: 846 2044, ext 8187
international@mags.school.nz

E-mail:international@mags.school.nz

Contact Address:

Mount Albert Grammar School
Alberton Avenue
Mount Albert
Auckland 1025
NEW ZEALAND

Telephone:
+64 9 846 2044 Extension 8187 for all enquiries.

Fax:
+64 9 846 2042


Click here to view the International Students section.


Senior Management

Name and Position
Phone
E-mail (Click on the address)
Mr D Burden
Headmaster
846 2044, ext 8150 headmaster@mags.school.nz
Mr P McKinley
Associate Principal
Year 9 & 10 boys
846 2044, ext 8172 pmckinley@mags.school.nz
Mr E Gray
International Director
815 4037
egray@mags.school.nz
Ms Y Williams
Deputy Principal
Administration
846 2044, ext 8152 ywilliams@mags.school.nz
Mr John Pipe
Deputy Principal
Staff Development
815 4038 jpipe@mags.school.nz
Mrs T Keenan
Deputy Principal
Year 12 students
846 2044, ext 8170 tkeenan@mags.school.nz
Mr M Rivalland
Deputy Principal
Year 11 students
815 4033 mrivalland@mags.school.nz
Ms J Williams
Deputy Principal
Year 9 & 10 girls
815 4036 jwilliams@mags.school.nz
Ms C Horne
Assistant Principal
Year 13 students
846 2044, ext 8223 chorne@mags.school.nz
Mr C Metcalfe
Deputy Principal
Director of School House
846 2044, ext 8178 cmetcalfe@mags.school.nz
Mr P Ferner
Director of Guidance
846 2044, ext 8181 pferner@mags.school.nz
Mr Kyu Kim
Director of Finance/ Business Manager
815 4032 magsbusiness@xtra.co.nz


Guidance & Careers

Position Name Phone E-mail (click on the address)
Director of Guidance Mr P Ferner 8462 044,ext 8181 pferner@mags.school.nz
Guidance Counsellor Ms M Wilson
8462 044,ext 8197
mwilson@mags.school.nz
Guidance Counsellor Mrs K Harford-Nielsen 8462 044,ext 8137 kharford@mags.school.nz
Guidance Counsellor Mrs M O'Carroll
8462 044, ext 8201
mocarroll@mags.school.nz
Pacific Island Liaison
Officer
Mr A Taulapiu 8462 044,ext 8184
ataulapiu@mags.school.nz
Student Support
Officers
Ms Yoshie O'Neill
Ms R Akava
8462 044,ext 8155

yoneill@mags.school.nz
rakava@mags.school.nz

Enrolment Officer
Mrs Theresa Taylor
8462 044,ext 8131
enrol@mags.school.nz
Careers Mrs J Lawry
8462 044,ext 8182

jlawry@mags.school.nz

Careers Administrator Mrs C Pedersen 8462 044,ext 8195

cpedersen@mags.school.nz

Gateway


Attendance Officer
Mrs C Peters


Mrs L Iswar
8462 044,ext 8126


846 2044, ext 8142
cpeters@mags.school.nz


attendance@mags.school.nz


Deans


Position Name Phone E-mail (click on the address)
Year 9 Boys' Dean Mr G Smith
8462 044, ext 8110 gsmith@mags.school.nz
Year 9 Girls' Dean Ms N Absolum
8462 044, ext 8111 nabsolum@mags.school.nz
Year 10 Boys' Dean Mr A Simpson
8462 044, ext 8112 asimpson@mags.school.nz
Year 10 Girls' Dean Ms K McColl
8462 044, ext 8113 kmccoll@mags.school.nz
Year 11 Deans Mr A Belson
8462 044, ext 8115 abelson@mags.school.nz
Ms V Anisi 8462 044, ext 8117 vanisi@mags.school.nz
Year 12 Deans Mr K Baker 8462 044, ext 8116 kbaker@mags.school.nz
Ms S Drew
8462 044, ext 8114 sdrew@mags.school.nz
Year 13 Deans Mr M Wright
8462 044, ext 8119 mwright@mags.school.nz
Ms J Lythe
8462 044, ext 8118 jlythe@mags.school.nz
Associative Academic Dean Mr G Cave 8462 044, ext 8120 gcave@mags.school.nz
Academic Dean Mr W Gibbs 8462 044, ext 8130 wgibbs@mags.school.nz
Dean of International Students Mr I Cole 8462 044, ext 8128 icole@mags.school.nz

Department Heads

Department Head of Department Phone E-Mail
Art Ms D Aleh 8462 044, ext 8194 daleh@mags.school.nz
Commerce Ms S Hayes 8462 044, ext 8173 shayes@mags.school.nz
English Ms A Mason 8462044, ext 8190 amason@mags.school.nz
ESOL Mrs P Godber 8462 044, ext 8105 pgodber@mags.school.nz
Languages Mrs H Selaries 8462 044, ext 8130 hselaries@mags.school.nz
Learning Support Mrs P Drake 8462 044, ext 8100 pdrake@mags.school.nz
Mathematics Mr A Sangster 8462 044, ext 8185 asangster@mags.school.nz
Media Studies
Mr S Allen
8462 044, ext 8193
sallen@mags.school.nz
Music Mrs M Zjajic-Moon 8462 044, ext 8188 mzmoon@mags.school.nz
Drama Dr L McGregor 8462 044, ext 8135 lmcgregor@mags.school.nz
 Dance  Ms J Cesan
846 2044, ext 8135
 jcesan@mags.school.nz
Physical Education Mr M Dempster 8462 044, ext 8165 mdempster@mags.school.nz
Science Ms A Whitlam 8462 044, ext 8209 awhitlam@mags.school.nz
Social Science Mrs C Cato 8462 044, ext 8168 ccato@mags.school.nz
Technology Mr T Van Zyl
8462 044, ext 8164 tvanzyl@mags.school.nz

Sports Contacts

Director of Sport
David Long
846 2044, ext 8136
021 395 242
dlong@mags.school.nz


Sports Administration
Fleur Goddard
Maxine Johns

846 2044, ext 8136
sports@mags.school.nz


Director of Rugby
Geoff Moon
846 2044, ext 8213
gmoon@mags.school.nz


Director of Rowing
Will Maling
846 2044, ext 8165
wmaling@mags.school.nz


Attendance

Absence:
If your son or daughter is absent from school, please contact the Attendance Officer, Ms Iswar, on the first day of their absence and each day thereafter if you are not sure how long your child is to be absent.

In addition, all absences of three days or more must be explained in a signed note and handed to your child's form teacher on their return to school.

Please choose from the contacts below:

Attendance Officer :

Ms Lee Iswar

Telephone: 846-2044 Ext 8142

Email: attendance@mags.school.nz


Leave - Personal:
Request for leave, non-school related, during the school year must be addressed to the Headmaster, Mr Dale Burden at least two weeks before the start of leave.

Please give the dates of absence from school and the purpose of the leave.

If in writing, please address the letter to:

The Headmaster
Mr Dale Burden
Mt Albert Grammar School
Alberton Avenue
Mt Albert
Auckland 1025

If emailing, please send to:

headmaster@mags.school.nz


Lates:
Punctuality is important and attending Form Class, 8.35am - 8.55am, is part of the school day.

If your child is late to school ie, arrives after the 8.35am bell, he/she is to report straight to the Student Centre and sign in. A detention is issued automatically for this. In the case of there being a legitimate reason for this lateness, it is then up to the student to see his/her Dean with a signed note providing an explantion for this lateness.


Exeats:
Students are required to stay within the school boundaries between 8.35am and 3.10pm.

If your child needs to leave school during the day, a note that explains the circumstances and is signed by the parent/caregiver is required. This is then taken to the Student Centre to be signed by a Dean to confirm permission has been granted for the student to leave school. (Parents/caregivers are often telephoned to confirm the note.) When your child is to leave school, he/she is to take the note, previously signed by the Dean, to the Student Centre and sign out. The student will be issued with a green exeat pass from the Student Centre office. If returning to the school, the student must, upon their return, sign in at the Student Centre.

Students are not to leave the school grounds without permission and an exeat pass. The only exception is that Year 13 students have permission to go to the Wave Pool Cafe as a senior privilege.

PLEASE BE MINDFUL: Attendance is critical to student success. Low attendance levels are directly linked to low achievement levels. Truancy is not the only factor of concern regarding attendance and any absence from school results in class work being missed.

Staff List

The teaching staff are listed below.

  • The four-digit number next to some staff is their extension number. (The school phone number is 8462044.)
  • As several staff often share the same phone, we recommend e-mail as the most direct means of communication.
  • To e-mail any staff member, please use the pattern shown for the first three.


ABS - Natalie Absolum (8111)
nabsolum@mags.school.nz


ADM - Colin Adam (8176)
cadam@mags.school.nz


ALH - Daniella Aleh (8194) (on leave)
daleh@mags.school.nz

ALL - Simon Allen (8166)
ANI - Va Anisi (8117)
BKR - Kerry Baker (8116)
BDK - Clare Baldock (8209)
BRT - Pat Barrett (8106)
BGH - James Bellingham (8103)
BSN - Andy Belson (8115)
BRY - Jo Berry (8166)
BVS - Patricia Bevins (E-mail)

BNF - Shona Boniface (8185)
BOK - Brent Booker (8209)
BVD - Haana Bovaird (8165)
BRM - Melanie Bremner (8105)
BRD - Natalia Brodie (8164)
BNT - Joelle Bunt (8164)
CVR - Paula Calver (8103)
CWT - Daryl Cartwright (8165)
CTO - Christine Cato (8168)
CVN - Joe Cavanagh (8168)
CVE - Greg Cave (8120)
CES - Jacqui Cesan (8135)
CHA - Han Cham (8185)
CDA - Anzar Chida (8185)
CLY - Stephanie Clarry (8185)
CLE - Ian Cole (8128)
CLN - Michael Collins (8166)
CNL - Simone Connell (8107)
CRK - Bryn Corkery (8194)
CRS - Dan Cross (8145)
CRN - Vanita Curin (8194)
CFD - Leanne Cutfield (8166)

DLM - Nisha D'Lima (8173)
DST - Mark Dempster (8165)
DWS - Brandon Dewes (8165)
DKY - Sam Dockery (8209)
DRK - Pam Drake (8100)
DRW- Sarah Drew (8114)
EDM - Kathy Edmonds (8130)
FLN - Kevin Fallon (8129)
FMR - Michelle Farmer (846 5092 - farm classroom)
FLM - Richie Folomu (8165)
FTN - Julian Fortuin (8185)
FNK - Gregory Frank (8106)
ORG - Elianna Gabriel (8168)
GDR - Paul Gardner (email - pgardner@mags.school.nz)
GDY - Nicholaas Gedye (8164)
GIB - Warwick Gibbs (8130)
GLL - Ratinder Gill (8176)
GDB- Pauline Godber (8105)
GDD - Elise Goddard (8232)
GDE - John Goodier (8107)
GRY - Evan Gray (8146)
GRN - Alex Green (8209)
GRG - Elizabeth Grigel (8154)
GGV - Andriana Gueorguieva
HTZ - James Hantz (8165)
HYT - Shameen Hayat (on leave)
HYS - Sarah Hayes (8173)
HCK - Kayla Hicks (on leave)
HSN - Amber Hinson (on leave)
HBS - Donna Hobbs (8168)
HDG - Gareth Hodges (8185)
HRN - Catherine Horne (8151)
HOS - Greg Hoskins (8164)
HUN - Matthew Huang (8209)

HUT - Pam Hutchins (email: phutchins@mags.school.nz)
JGL - Jennifer Jagiello (8209) (on leave)
JMC - Max Jeremic (8173)
KNA - Henrietta Kajanova (8185)
KNN - TeAroha Keenan (8170)
KMP - Sandra Kemp (8100)
KNW - Jason Knowles ( 8166)
KMA - Pradeep Kumar (8185)
KMR - Satish Kumar (8185)
LBY - Hannah Lasenby (8165) (on leave)
LVY - Elliot Lavey (8190)
LSO - Grace Leaso (8173)
LEO - Ok-jin Lee (8130)
LES - Shona Lee (8173) (on leave)
JNS - Ainsley Leonard (Jones) (8194) (on leave)
LIU - Eva Liu (8130/8105)
LGC - Chris Long (8127)
LNG - David Long (8186)
LDM - Henry Ludlam (8164)
LCH - Barbara Lynch (8130)
LTH - Jessica Lythe (8118)
MCG - Lilicherie McGregor (8135)
MCK - Shelley Mackinlay-Milne (8168) (Note e-mail: smackinlaymilne@mags.school.nz)
MRM - Olivia Markham (8168) (on leave)
MSM - Lana Marsom
MCC - Katie McColl (8113)
MHD - Johanna McHardy (8185)
MAC - Paul McKinley (8172)
MSN - Aubrey Mason ( 8190)
MTF - Chris Metcalfe (8178)
MIL - Daniel Mills (8164)
MSY - Archana Mistry (8209)
MOK - Elliot Moka (8168)
MON - Geoff Moon (8213)
MRE - Marian Moore (8166)
MLC - Sarah Mulcahy (8190) (on leave)
MLG - Ayisha Mulgrew (8194)
MPY - Brian Murphy (8180)
NYN - Kim Nguyen (8193)
NHA - Robina Nisha (8209)
NTL - Malcolm Nuttall (8185)
OCL - Margaret O'Carroll (8201)
OKI - Yuki Oki (8130)
OZH - Diana Ozich (8100)
PAL - Waimirirangi Paul
PNE - Joseph Payne (8168)
GATE - Christine Peters (Gateway) (8126)
PHN - Natasha Phyn (8119)
PSI - Andrew Pilisi (8185)
PPE - John Pipe (8139)
PLG - Reuben Ploeg (8193)
PRG - Helen Prangnell (8185)

PHR - Michael Puhara (8166/8105)
PUL - Alayna Pulham (8209)
RED - Sarah Reid
RES - Peter Rees (8194)
RBT - Richard Roberts (8173) (on leave for Term 1)
ROB - Sharne Roberts (8168)
RSN - Kirsten Robertson (8209) (on leave)
SAL - Tony Sail
SGT - Allan Sangster (8185)
SLK - Ian Scoltock (8209)
SLR - Helen Selaries (8130)
SHN - Tony Shen (8185) (on leave)
SIM - Adam Simpson (8112)
SMP - Michelle Simpson (8168)
SLB - Sarnia Slabbert (8209)
SMG - Gordon Smith (8110)
STH - Paula Smith (8165) (on leave)
SMD - Meenu Sood (8192)
SRN - Brett Sorrenson
SUA - Tagaloa Peter Su'a (8189)
STO - Margaret Sutton
SWL- Robyn Swales (8164)
THP - Tahau Thompson (8105)
TDD - Kate Todd (8100)
UYS - Jane Uys
VZW - Laura van der Zouwe (8168)
VTR - Debbie Venter (8107)
WGR - Michael Wagener (8185)

WAN - Li Wang (8105)
WKS - Richard Watkinson (8107) (on leave)
WHD - Darren Whitehead (8165)
WHL - Ang Whitlam (8209)
WSN - Jessica Wilson (8165)
WLN - Marianne Wilson (8197)
WLT - Amy Wiltshire (8165)
WRI - Martin Wright
(8119)
YRD - Sarah Yardley (8209)
ZGN - Roseanne Zigliani (8130)
ZMN - Milica Zjajic-Moon (Note: e-mail mzmoon@mags.school.nz) (8188)